Naples has a great university tradition. Just remember that Naples was among the firstEuropean cities to have a university. Here, we want to talk about the first three Neapolitan Universities and their central offices.

Federico II University

The University has this name because it was founded by Federico II in 1224: it’s among the first universities in Europe and it has the primacy of being the first state and laic European university. The central office is situated in Corso Umberto I. It’s a majestic Neo-Baroque building. It is built at the end of the 19th century, on the structure of a building of the Risanamento and before a Jesuit convent. You can admire the pediment by the sculptor Francesco Ierace, painting Federico II, who founded the University of Naples. Amazing the two sphinxes beside the marble staircase.

L’Orientale University

L’Orientale University was founded in 1724 by the College of Chinese Catholics of Matteo Ripa, an Italian missionary who devoted his life to missions in the lands of the Far East of China. The goal of the College is to form interpreters who go to spread Christianity in the East. The interest in languages has made L’Orientale the leading university in the linguistic-cultural sector of Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas. The central office is Palazzo Giusso, situated in Giusso Square. The palace is of the sixteenth century, built for a noble family. The facade has been recently renovated. The courtyard is typical of a noble Neapolitan palace: arches are straight on pillars covered with molded carved pipeline.

Suor Orsola Benincasa University

The University of Suor Orsola Benincasa is situated on the monastic citadel, from the hill of Sant’Elmo to Corso Vittorio Emanuele. It includes two monasteries, two churches, cloisters and gardens. It is founded between the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, from the idea of Sister Orsola, a Neapolitan mystic. You have to visit the gardens and the terrace, from which you can embrace the whole city.